Review Policy

If you are an author or a publishing house, then I am always happy to accept books for review consideration on Amy’s Bookshelf. I accept self-published as well as traditionally published books. I have worked with many authors as well as the publishers Legend Press, Orenda Books, Harper Collins, Penguin Random House, and Fairlight Books.

If you would like me to review a book then please consider that all my reviews are my own opinion and are honest to what I thought of the book at the time I read it. Most of my reviews do include criticism but even if I didn’t enjoy the novel I always try to find something positive to say as well.

My Book Preferences:

I primarily read fiction but I do try my best to read a wide range of genres including non-fiction. Here are some of my most-read genres:

  • Romance
  • Literary Fiction
  • Thriller/Mystery
  • Autobiographical Works
  • Science-Fiction/Fantasy (although I don’t tend to enjoy YA)

I also enjoy reading books which deal with mental health topics. Novels such as The Shock of the Fall, Still Alice, Let Me Find You, and Perfect are examples of books which tackle these issues.

I do not read books in the Horror genre. I enjoy thrillers and murder mysteries but anything paranormal or gruesome will probably not end up on my shelf.

If you would like to contact me regarding a book review then visit my contact page for more details and I will try to respond as soon as possible. I may be contacted on any of my social media platforms but I will most likely respond to emails the quickest.

Click Here to View my Media Kit

(Last updated: 18/08/2019)

IMPORTANT NOTE: I only review hard copies of books e.g. paperbacks so unfortunately I won’t be able to accept any e-books to review.

Click here to view my Privacy Policy

Reviews

Amy's Bookshelf
5.0
powered by Facebook
Ryan Lenney
Ryan Lenney
2019-07-18T18:57:47+0000
I found Amy on Instagram and her honest review was a pleasure! Her response time is impeccable and she is very polite and accomodating! would recommend for anyone who wants an avid book reader to give their honest opinion on their work!read more
Hannah Grace Robertson
Hannah Grace Robertson
2019-07-01T23:36:58+0000
It was an absolute pleasure working with Amy for a recent review. She was responsive and so helpful through the whole process!read more
Mark Scott
Mark Scott
2019-06-19T13:13:52+0000
I must say i was completely overwhelmed with the amazing review Amy posted for my debut novel House of Straw. It was concise and professional and it was clear that she fully understood the troubled journeys of the main characters. She managed to relay the precise context and feel of the narrative that I was aiming for, without giving anything away. Her constructive criticism was welcomed and has provided me with food for thought as I work through the sequel. I love the way she breaks down and marks the categories, it lets authors know where their strengths and weaknesses lie. I certainly hope she agrees to review my next book when it is released early next year. Thank-you Amy.read more
Timothy Jay Smith
Timothy Jay Smith
2019-05-25T15:26:28+0000
I was really pleased with Amy's honest review, and I don't say that because she loved everything about my book -- because she didn't. She had a balanced take on it, and touched on its strong points while providing honest feedback on aspects she felt weren't as strong. She didn't say anything that surprised me, and overall she was very encouraging. Thanks, Amy!read more
Ranjini Iyer
Ranjini Iyer
2019-04-19T15:16:53+0000
Amy recently posted a review of my book The Colossus on her blog. It was a well written and spot on review. However because of her rating system, people may see a lower number and not read the review as a result. And be put off the book. She rated my book lower due to some issues she had with it but that ended up bringing the end rating number down on the review while her review itself was positive. So from a writer's POV I guess her rating system could use more tweaking.read more
Brandon Dragan
Brandon Dragan
2018-10-13T15:01:23+0000
Great reviews and great to work with from a writer's point of view!
Zarina Bahati
Zarina Bahati
2018-09-16T11:21:57+0000
Lovely concise reviews of a range of books. She is very insightful and gives honest opinions without including spoilers. She left a perceptive review of my book 'Every Last Psycho' and definitely understood both stories and gave great critical feedback. Would definitely recommend if you want to read short spoiler-free reviews about books you may be interested in, or if you are an author and wish to send her a book to review.read more
Susan Canzonet
Susan Canzonet
2018-08-16T06:50:26+0000
I found the place so desirous and relevant to the aspirations that i have found myself in these days. Because the overwhelming and the most inspirational review about this page would be the one I am up to. we are queer creatures for we want to remain intact with so much extraordinary by indulging in fiction and it is the only leisure to cope up with writing something interesting at the same time. i have read most reviews giving it the notion as if we are going to read the first rated rather underrated book(s) of the year but it would be better not to vanish the curiosity that bound us close to some open vistas for our thinking capacity while going through the book(s). the on goers of books really wannna close to the bibliophile's society in order to remain the fruitful outcome of the strata they belong to and for this reason it is a best place "to be" rather than "not to be".read more
Roy Palmer
Roy Palmer
2018-06-30T16:50:03+0000
I found Amy's Bookshelf and after reading some of her reviews contacted Amy to see if she'd be interested in checking out my work. She responded quickly (some reviewers take weeks!) and I was pleased when she accepted my book. But then the doubts a writer experiences begin to surface as you anticipate the review - will she love it, hate it, or worse, be indifferent? Amy kept me up to date on the progress of when it would be read and reviewed, and I was happy to see Amy loved it :0) I really appreciated Amy given her time to read my work and post it to various social media sites. It can be a lonely existence being an indie writer and very little to show for all the hours we put in, so it's nice to see someone take a risk on reading us 'unknowns' and give her honest feedback. Thanks Amy - I won't forget if I ever make it big! And by that I mean sell more than one book in a day :0)read more
Paul Scott
Paul Scott
2018-06-14T10:12:13+0000
I stumbled across Amy's book blog quite by accident, but I'm glad that I did. Her review of "A Path to Jupiter" is fair, concise and encouraging, but also contains suggestions as to how it could have been improved - which is always a bonus. She steers clear of spoilers, yet explains the premise of the story in a way that praises rather than criticises, so I'd happily submit more of my work in the future - assuming she'll accept it. I would encourage any self-published author in need of honest feedback to get in touch. Very much appreciated. Thank you.read more
Rich Marcello
Rich Marcello
2018-06-05T16:14:45+0000
Amy’s bookshelf is one of the finest book blogs out there. I highly recommend it to both writers looking for an honest review and to readers looking for advice on their next great read. Richread more
John Bell
John Bell
2018-01-30T16:30:00+0000
After reading several of Amy's reviews on her website, I knew she would be a thorough and honest reviewer. Thank goodness she agreed to read my novel. I was pleased with the overall review and delighted by her insight into the book's characters, plot, and historical significance. First class book reviewer.read more
Sonja Price
Sonja Price
2018-01-18T14:19:22+0000
Charlie Laidlaw
Charlie Laidlaw
2017-11-14T10:10:10+0000
Amy was kind enough to write a glowing review for my book. However, it was insightful and carried a real sense of what the book was about. Someone who knows books and how they are pieced together.read more
Aaron KH
Aaron KH
2017-11-03T11:35:12+0000
Pretty website, great reviews and a very friendly, approachable blogger. What more could a wannabe author want? 😁
Dallas Coryell
Dallas Coryell
2017-11-02T12:09:43+0000
Amy gave me a very timely and professional review, along with doing gorgeous posts on her social media. As an indie author trying to get the word out about my work, having people like Amy as part of my marketing plan is absolutely essential. I will definitely be contacting her again when my next book comes out! 🙂read more
Thea Jacobs
Thea Jacobs
2017-03-26T16:09:31+0000
Frankie Englezou
Frankie Englezou
2017-03-26T16:02:34+0000
Next Reviews